YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
An April Shroud, by Reginald Hill

An April Shroud

Dalziel & Pascoe #4

By Reginald Hill

Paperback [ $14.95 ]

Add to Stack

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 272 pages

ISBN: 978-1-934609-32-3

A country-house mystery. The phrase evokes an image of 1930s fops in dinner jackets, starched family retainers, pale fingers dripping strychnine in the gin. It does not evoke an image of the belching Andy Dalziel, and yet there he is, on an enforced holiday, fetched up at a crumbling country manor, and sticking his bulbous nose into circumstances surrounding the late owner’s unusual demise. As this is 1972, rather than 1932, the fops are sporting t-shirts and excessive facial hair, and the family retainer is knocking ash in the microwaved stew. But there is a femme, and while she may or may not be fatale, she’s fabulous enough to awaken even Dalziel’s long dormant romantic dreams. Peter Pascoe could apply the brakes, but he’s on his honeymoon, establishing his own romantic dreams with Ellie. For good or ill, love is in the air.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Ian Rankin, Peter Robinson, and the "Dalziel and Pascoe" series
 

"Must reading for Dalziel-Pascoe fans ... Hill has raised the classical British mystery to new heights"—New York Times