YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
Black Plumes, by Margery Allingham

Black Plumes

By Margery Allingham

Out of Stock

Sorry!

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 240 pages

ISBN: 978-1-934609-30-9

Gabrielle Ivory was once a society beauty of such exquisite arrogance that she stared down a queen. But now, nearing 90, she’s largely disregarded by the younger members of the clan, who like to imagine granny as a bedridden relic of a dead era. That’s a mistake, and it’s not their only one. A series of malicious attacks is threatening the family business – one of the most prestigious art galleries in the world. Robert Madrigal and his high-strung wife, frantic to preserve the status-quo, want to chalk it all up to practical jokes gone wrong. But Gabrielle is not inclined to collude in this delusion. “It’s a ridiculous modern affectation,” she sniffs, “to pretend to disregard money.”

A stand-alone mystery from Margery Allingham, best known for the Albert Campion series.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, and the Golden Age of Mystery Fiction
 

“Told with a skillful novelist’s sophistication and restraint”—New York Times

“Delicate sense of atmosphere and character”—Times Literary Supplement