YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
City of Silver, by Annamaria Alfieri

City of Silver

By Annamaria Alfieri

Paperback [ $14.95 $10.95 ]

Add to Stack

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 288 pages

ISBN: 978-1-934609-73-6

It’s 1650, and the Peruvian city of Potosi is under investigation from the King of Spain for producing counterfeit silver coins. Meanwhile, the Grand Inquisitor of New Spain is also investigating, this time into the actions of abbess Mother Maria Santa Hilda, who has allowed an apparent suicide, a young woman who died inside the abbey, to be buried in sacred ground. But Mother Maria does not think this was a suicide, and in her attempt to prove her case, she stumbles on some extremely dangerous secrets. An atmospheric historical mystery set in an unusual locale with a strong female protagonist, City of Silver will please both history and mystery buffs alike. Annamaria Alfieri is in fact a pseudonym for the very American Patricia King, but that doesn’t alter the stunning sense of authenticity in this novel which Library Journal described as a “nail-biting thriller in which Latin American history comes alive,” and The Washington Post compared to The Name of the Rose

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Umberto Eco's The Name of the Rose and C.J. Sansom's "Matthew Shardlake" series
 

"As both mystery and history City of Silver glitters"—Washington Post