YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
False-Scent

False Scent

Roderick Alleyn #21

By Ngaio Marsh

Paperback [ $14.95 ]

Ebook Epub [ $9.99 ]

Ebook Kindle [ $9.99 ]

Add to Stack

Add to Stack

Add to Stack

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 240 pages

ISBN: 978-1-63194-019-4

Mary Bellamy is the sweetheart of the London stage, fluffy as only an elderly lady of 50(!) can be. Her fans and friends – and who didn’t adore, positively adore darling Mary? – are heartbroken when somehow Mary manages to spritz herself not with her favorite perfume but with the deadly insecticide meant to be sprayed on the azaleas. Inspector Alleyn begins by smelling something fishy (everything he learns about lovely, fragile Mary suggests that in fact she was a rather vicious battleaxe), but he very quickly starts smelling something different…something like a rat. Originally published in 1959, False Scent was described by the New York Times as a “delightfully witty and vivid novel of the London theatre.”

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Margery Allingham and Agatha Christie
 

"A delightfully witty and vivid novel of the London theatre, almost incidentally containing a neat murder puzzle for Roderick Alleyn, who has become as charming as any of the theatre people involved."- New York Times