YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
Pearly Before Swine, by Margery Allingham

Pearls Before Swine

Albert Campion #12

By Margery Allingham

Out of Stock

Sorry!

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 288 pages

ISBN: 978-1-934609-37-8

World War II is limping to a close, but it isn’t the Germans who are troubling the Dowager Marchioness of Carados right now. The problem, rather, is her son’s upcoming marriage, to a nearly appropriate girl, and its potential for being derailed by a distinctly inappropriate one. Who apparently chose the Marchioness’s son’s bed in which to swallow a fatal handful of pills.

Never one to be cowed, the Marchioness enlists a friend to dump the body in a temporarily empty flat. But the flat’s owner – one Albert Campion – returns home unexpectedly, on brief leave from the war. Understandably a bit put out, Campion determines nonetheless to carry out his original plan: a fast change of clothing and then off to the country and the loving embrace of his wife. The police, however, have other ideas.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, and the Golden Age of Mystery Fiction
 

"A most ingenious puzzle that mingles a sense of the grim with lively humor"—Times Literary Supplement