YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
Sudden Vengeance, by Edmund Crispin

Sudden Vengeance

Gervase Fen #7

By Edmund Crispin

Out of Stock

Sorry!

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 224 pages

ISBN: 978-1-934609-41-5

As many mystery lovers are aware, Edmund Crispin was in fact a pseudonym for composer Bruce Montgomery, best known (to his chronic irritation) for writing the scores to the “Carry On” films—not among the real gems of British cinema. The film on which professor Gervase Fen has been hired to consult, though, is of rather a different order: it’s a biography of the poet Alexander Pope. But however high-minded the subject-matter, the actual process of making the movie is a grubby business, from the young actresses of dubious morality to the stogie-chomping cameramen, perpetually threatening to strike. And—to Fen’s evident delight—even the showbiz glamour can’t prevent murder from muscling its way onto the scene.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Dorothy L. Sayers, John Dickson Carr, dry wit, and the intricate plotting of the Golden Age of detective fiction
 

"Crispin [is] a bright British light in the mystery field"—New York Times