YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
The Art of Deception, by Elizabeth Ironside

The Art of Deception

By Elizabeth Ironside

Paperback [ $14.95 $10.95 ]

Add to Stack

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 392 pages

ISBN: 978-1-934609-40-8

Art historian Nicholas Ochterlonie is the very model of a modern English gentleman, with a perfectly ordered life in which everything — or so he thinks — is exactly as it seems. But when his wife inexplicably demands a divorce, he finds himself diving into uncertainty like a junkie with a new drug. Soon he is risking his professional reputation, breaking the law, and embarking on a delirious affair with the mysterious Julian, beautiful and badly damaged by her past with a Russian gangster.

Protecting Julian from the Mafya and challenging his colleagues’ pet convictions give Nicholas an intoxicating new sense of himself: the dashing hero, unafraid to grapple with difficult truths. Of course, all addicts believe they’re in control … until they aren’t any more.

Elizabeth Ironside writes beautifully about identity and uncertainty, and she keeps the ground shifting until the very end.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Ruth Rendell, Minette Walters and Death in the Garden
 

"Ironside writes exquisitely; hardly a page goes by without a turn of phrase of startling originality or a thought that stops the reader cold … Each of her five novels is a treasure"—Richmond Times-Dispatch