YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
The Beckoning Lady, by Margery Allingham

The Beckoning Lady

Albert Campion #15

By Margery Allingham

Out of Stock

Sorry!

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 272 pages

ISBN: 978-1-934609-58-3

If Tiger in the Smoke ratcheted up the tension to a most un-Allingham-like level, The Beckoning Lady releases it in one delighted giggle – it’s one of the frothiest and most deliriously charming books in the Campion series. In Tiger in the Smoke, the big event, the one that dominates all thought, is the war — over for several years, but still casting an endless shadow. in Beckoning Lady, by contrast, the big event is an upcoming party, the swankiest, most glamorous thing that’s happened for years in this little English village. There’s a murder or two, of course, and some canny sleuthing on Campion’s part, but the prevailing flavor is of the best vintage champagne.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, and the Golden Age of Mystery Fiction
 

"A fine, rich tangle of a cast"—New York Herald Tribune