YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
The-Dead-Sit-Round-in-a-Ring

The Dead Sit Round in a Ring

Detective Stella Mooney #1

By David Lawrence

Paperback [ $14.95 ]

Add to Stack

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 384 pages

ISBN: 978-1-937384-69-2

Fans of “Prime Suspect” (the original, with Helen Mirren, please) and of Patricia Cornwell will be delighted to make the acquaintance of Detective Inspector Stella Mooney of the London police department, who can give both Jane Tennyson and Kay Scarpetta a run for their money in the dysfunctional department. Stella, who grew up in the council estate where she must investigate, has a vicious little vodka habit and a badly shredding love-life, but mostly what she has is a case that’s driving her crazy. Three cult-members committed ritual suicide in the company of a thuggish drug-dealer who seems to have…come along for the ride? The plot’s a cracker, and the evocative language creates an irresistibly stylish noir atmosphere reminiscent of Ian Rankin. But the secret pleasure here is Stella herself: messy, conflicted, angry, aging, and extraordinarily interesting in a way that few fictional heroines are allowed to be. This is the first novel in David Lawrence’s Stella Mooney series.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Prime Suspect, and Patricia Cornwell’s “Kay Scarpetta” series
 

“[A]n interestingly flawed heroine...and a perspective on London that is darker and grittier than in conventional treatments....A voice you want to hear again.”—New York Times