YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
The Fashion in Shrouds, by Margery Allingham

The Fashion in Shrouds

Albert Campion #10

By Margery Allingham

Out of Stock

Sorry!

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 352 pages

ISBN: 978-1-934609-27-9

It’s always a treat to learn something—something that’s actually true—about Albert Campion, and this novels offers a particularly delicious bonbon in the form of an introduction to Campion’s sister, a talented young clothing designer with a roster of celebrated clients. The most celebrated among them is certainly Georgia Wells, a glamorous actress who exemplifies the 1930s femme fatale.

Georgia is vain, stupid, and self-centered, but men fly to her like moths to a flame. And like those moths, they often meet unhappy ends. Georgia’s fans chalk it up to her irresistibly dangerous allure, but Campion isn’t so sure. For one thing, he reckons, Georgia isn’t actually all that alluring. And for another, he suspects she might be just a bit more deliberately fatale than her public would like to believe.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, and the Golden Age of Mystery Fiction
 

"Ingenious and sophisticated"—New York Times

"Beautifully planned and written ... This is a novel which may be thoroughly recommended even to those who normally eschew detective fiction"—Times Literary Supplement