YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
Holy Disorder, by Edmund Crispin

Holy Disorders

Gervase Fen #2

By Edmund Crispin

Out of Stock

Sorry!

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 272 pages

ISBN: 978-1-933397-28-3

Gervase Fen—the eccentric Oxford don with a knack for solving “impossible” crimes—made his debut in The Case of the Gilded Fly, which Edmund Crispin wrote to win a bet. With Holy Disorders Crispin’s skills matured, but Fen remains as deliciously fond of his own wit and erudition as ever.

First published in 1945, Holy Disorders takes Fen to the town of Tolnbridge, where he is happily bounding around with a butterfly net until the cathedral organist is murdered, giving Fen the chance to play sleuth. The man didn’t have an enemy in the world, and even his music was inoffensive: Could he have fallen afoul of a nest of German spies or the local coven of witches, ominously rumored to have been practicing since the 17th century? Tracking down the answer pleases Fen immensely—only the reader will have a better time.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Dorothy L. Sayers, John Dickson Carr, dry wit, and the intricate plotting of the Golden Age of detective fiction
 

"One of the most literate mystery writers of the 20th century"—Boston Globe