YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
Police at the Funeral, by Margery Allingham

Police at the Funeral

Albert Campion #4

By Margery Allingham

Out of Stock

Sorry!

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 312 pages

ISBN: 978-1-933397-64-1

The imperious Caroline Faraday runs her house like a Victorian fiefdom, unconcerned with the fact that it’s 1931. Furniture and meals are heavy and elaborate, both motorcars and morning tea are forbidden on account of vulgarity. The Faraday children—now well into middle age—chafe at the restrictions, but with no money of their own, they respond primarily by quarreling amongst themselves.

Their endless squabbling is tedious but nothing more until one of them turns up missing and then dead, followed shortly by his petulant, whining sister. Though neither will be much missed, decency demands that Caroline Faraday hire the nearly respectable Albert Campion to investigate their untimely ends. Unfortunately, what Mr. Campion discovers will force the modern world relentlessly into Mrs. Faraday’s stuffy Victorian parlor.

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, and the Golden Age of Mystery Fiction
 

“A richly detailed, entertaining romp, with a fascinating resolution”—Chicago Tribune