Print sales on TEMPORARY hiatus!
Cart 0
Mother Love

L.R. Wright

Mother Love

Karl Alberg #7

$ 9.99

There is a murder here, no question, but readers craving a whodunit should look elsewhere: The real mystery is why Maria, a pleasant, placid housewife, abandoned her family for seven years. This question is nagging at Sergeant Karl Alberg, even as Cassandra Mitchell, Alberg’s longtime companion, is doing some nagging of her own—he had promised, after all, to hang up his policeman’s hat. As always in this series, the great pleasure is in the intricate interplay of the personalities, especially nuanced in Mother Love. Not surprisingly, the book won Wright her second Arthur Ellis award for Best Novel of the Year, and was the first mystery novel ever to win the Canadian Authors’ Association Literary Prize for Fiction.

“Wright has become a master of the psychological thriller. Her characters are totally recognizable people whose actions are the result of complex motivations and who strive to rebuild their lives on the rubble of too many demolished dreams. Powerful reading for all readers, not just mystery fans” —Booklist

Who's likely to like this: Fans of Ruth Rendell and P.D. James


2018 • Fiction/Mystery • 216 pages • ISBN: 9781631941412


Share this Product