Cart 0
A Chill Rain in January, by L.R. Wright

L.R. Wright

A Chill Rain in January

Karl Alberg #3

$ 9.99

It's sunny days for Staff Sergeant Karl Alberg, even as everyone else in Canada is shivering. The magnificent Cassandra Mitchell, who has a disconcerting habit of disappearing from both the town of Sechelt and Alberg's bed, has appeared once again. And though Alberg is effectively the police chief, the most pressing thing on his desk right now is the spunky old lady who has apparently absconded from her retirement home—most likely, it's widely believed, in search of a good martini.

But a storm is brewing for Alberg, just a few miles down the peninsula. Zoe Strachan was an angry child, and she's grown into an angry, if eerily seductive, woman. Over the years, she has built up elaborate structures to contain her anger, but now those structures have been shattered. A refugee from big-city policing, Alberg thinks he's seen it all. But he's not even going to know what hit him.

"Finely crafted prose supports the narrowly focused plot, wonderful characters, and gorgeous descriptions" --Library Journal

"Rich in humorous and poignant aspects as well as fierce suspense" --Publishers Weekly

Who's likely to like this: Fans of Henning Mankell, Stieg Larsson and other Scandinavian mystery writers


2009 • Fiction/Mystery • 272 pages • ISBN: 9781934609361


Share this Product