Welcome to the new Felony & Mayhem Website!!!
Cart 0
The Book of the Crime, by Elizabeth Daly

Elizabeth Daly

The Book of the Crime

Henry Gamadge #16

$ 7.99
Young Rena Austen, newly wed, is afraid she's made a terrible mistake. Her husband, once a dashingly romantic figure of a wounded war hero, has turned into a moody layabout, and they are sharing a gloomy house on the Upper East Side of New York with his unpleasant, always-there family. When her husband reacts in a frighteningly angry way to Rena pulling a particular volume off the library shelf, however, she has had enough, and flees her home in fear for her life. Thankfully, Henry Gamadge is on hand to solve the mystery of the book and the dead body that inevitably turns up. Originally published in 1950, The Book of the Crime is, sadly, Henry Gamadge's last appearance, but on the bright side he is at least as charming here as he was on his first outing.

"Henry Gamadge will be well remembered as one of the most civilized detectives in fiction, investigating some of the most subtly conceived of criminal cases"—New York Times

Who's likely to like this: Fans of Agatha Christie; Elizabeth Daly was, famously, Miss Christie’s favorite mystery writer.

2016 • Fiction/Mystery • 216 pages • ISBN: 978-1-63194-093-4

Share this Product