Welcome to the new Felony & Mayhem Website!!!
Cart 0
Dead Water, by Ngaio Marsh

Ngaio Marsh

Dead Water

Inspector Alleyn #23

$ 9.99

The elderly Emily Pride is perfectly pleased to have inherited an island, even if her starchy pragmatism is ever-so-faintly appalled by the “Pixie Falls” spring and its reported miraculous healing properties. But really, the locals’ attempts to capitalize on the “miracles” are entirely too tacky—Ye Olde Gift Shoppe, the neon signs—not on Miss Emily’s watch, thank you. Of course, the locals are not exactly thrilled to give up their trade (Pixie Falls may be mostly known for healing warts, it’s true, but you take your shillings where you can find them). Could their frustration have bubbled up into murderous rage? Inspector Alleyn will have to sort it out. And this time, it’s personal.

"Firm characterization, a fine timetable-alibi plot, a nicely observed picture of a peculiar cultural phenomenon, all these handled with Miss Marsh's enviable ease and polish."—New York Times

Who's likely to like this: Fans of Agatha Christie and Margery Allingham

2015 • Fiction/Mystery • 240 pages • ISBN: 978-1-63194-024-8

Share this Product