PRINT SALES ON HOLD, enjoy our ebooks!
Cart 0
Out of the Blackout

Robert Barnard

Out of the Blackout

$ 14.95
With the Nazis bombing London on a nightly basis, many working-class families sent their children to the comparative safety of the countryside. When the Blitz ended, the families came for their kids...but no one ever came for Simon Thorn. His name appears on no list of the evacuated children. And none of his meager belongings offer any clues as to his origins. Now an adult, newly moved to London, Simon is puzzled by an odd sense of familiarity when he walks down certain streets. He remembers his years of screaming nightmares that would terrify his bewildered foster parents. And he resolves, once and for all, to find out where he originally came from...even as everything he uncovers suggests that, really, he doesn’t want to know. A suspenseful and absorbing story of a man's search for his identity, Out of the Blackout manages to surprise until the very end.

"Barnard untangles his riddle with great skill, and I suspect he is going to outwit all but a handful of readers" --New York Times

Who's likely to like this: Fans of Ruth Rendell and John Lawton


2006 • Fiction/Mystery • 224 pages • ISBN: 9781933397320


Share this Product