Cart 0
Swing, Brother, Swing

Ngaio Marsh

Swing, Brother, Swing

Inspector Alleyn #15

$ 9.99
Lord Pastern and Baggot (yes, that’s one person) is a classic English eccentric, given to passionate, peculiar enthusiasms. His latest? Drumming in a jazz band. His rather stuffy wife is not amused, and even less so when her daughter falls hard for Carlos Rivera, the band’s sleazy piano accordionist. Aside from the young woman, nobody likes Rivera very much, so there’s a wealth of suspects when he is shot in the middle of a performance. Happily, Inspector Alleyn is in the audience, ready solve the murder, soothe Lord P&B, and generally get everyone back on beat. Who knew he was such a jazzbo? Swing, Brother, Swing has also been published in the United States as A Wreath for Rivera.

"Her handling of jazz musicians is not nearly so knowledgeable as her earlier treatments of painters and actors. But this is a slight flaw in a succulent novel."—New York Times

Who's likely to like this: Fans of Margery Allingham and Agatha Christie


2014 • Fiction/Mystery • 288 pages • ISBN: 978-1-937384-58-6


Share this Product