YOUR STACK: 0 items $0.00

Loading
An Empty Death

An Empty Death

Ted Stratton #2

By Laura Wilson

Paperback [ $14.95 ]

Add to Stack

+ More

• Fiction/Mystery • 336 pages

ISBN: 978-1-937384-37-1

F ollowing up on The Innocent Spy, the second novel in the Ted Stratton series is set in the summer of 1944, almost five years into World War II. While the fates of the war have turned in favor of the Allies, the reality of life in London is still grim and bombs are still falling, and everyone is exhausted, Stratton and his wife Jenny included. In the middle of all this, Stratton investigates a series of suspicious deaths at a London hospital. Meanwhile, Jenny tries to help a woman who, once rescued from a bomb site, claims that her husband is in fact an impostor. In parallel narratives we follow Stratton, Jenny, and a man who is using the war to reshape his identity, and who may hold the key to all the mysteries. As usual, Laura Wilson presents a detailed and historically accurate picture of life in wartime London. Culminating in an incredibly suspenseful action scene, the novel remains both surprising and moving up to the last page.

 

 

Who's Likely to Like This

Fans of John Lawton's "Inspector Troy" series and Laura Wilson's The Lover
 

“A complex, poignant novel”—Denver Post