Cart 0
Cut to the Quick

Kate Ross

Cut to the Quick

Julian Kestrel #1

$ 9.99
Julian Kestrel is the walking definition of a Regency-era dandy. He cares about little beyond the perfection of his tailoring, he lives for the bon mot, and his life has the specific gravity—and the fleeting charm—of a soap-bubble. At least that’s what he’d like you to think. In fact, it rather suits Kestrel to be perpetually underestimated, particularly when—as in this instance—his weekend at a glamorous country estate is spoiled by a dead girl’s body being found in his bed and then further spoiled by the fact that his valet is immediately under suspicion. If certain elements about Julian Kestrel's life ring a bell—the ultra-lightweight persona, for example, or the valet who's been plucked from the criminal classes—that's no accident: We're convinced that he's the true godfather of Peter Wimsey, Albert Campion, and the other "Gentlemen Sleuths" who began cropping up 100 years or so after Kestrel first tied his cravat.

"Kate Ross combines polished writing with originity, historical accuracy, and a genuine gift for creating intriguing characters and situations."—Mystery News

Who's likely to like this: Fans of Georgette Heyer's Regency novels, and Anne Perry's and David Liss's Victorian series.


2010 • Fiction/Mystery • 416 pages • ISBN: 9781934609491


Share this Product